And the Angels Came In

angels

As a hospice chaplain,

I help my patients make the crossing to heaven

By praying for, with, and over them,

Holding their hand,

Singing for, with and over them,

And giving them a blessing.

I did exactly that two weeks ago

For an amazing man, one of the most memorable patients I’ve ever had.

When I had finished all my prayers, songs and blessings,

I cried a little, stepped out of the room,

Blew my nose,

Centered myself with a prayer,

Spoke with the nurses at the nursing station,

Then I left, as I have done so many times before.

This week,

I was told that my patient’s roommate

Saw my patient’s angels come into the room

As I’d finished my prayers and songs.

My patient passed away peacefully that night.

And this week, my heart is happy to know

That he went to meet his wife and son surrounded by his angels.

Thank you, thank you, thank you, God!

Chaplain Tamar

12.2.16

Leave a Reply

